Unusual Pure-O, Need Advice on CBT and helping myself

Guest HonorableMention

Guest HonorableMention

Hello everyone.

First of all, let me say that I feel my Pure-O is rather unusual because I feel it focuses on an OCD theme I have never seen before. Because I am a writer, my OCD has focused heavily on my characters. After realizing that I have OCD, looking back I can see that I have obsessed about more 'classic' themes throughout my childhood. I suppose it focuses on whatever is most important or frightening to me. In this case, my characters are important to me because I enjoy role play and strive to become a fantasy novelist.

Unfortunately, because I was never diagnosed and ended up having to self-diagnose after an extreme episode of OCD about a year or two years ago, this thing has had an entire life time to brood and become ingrained into my mental processes. I can remember having obsessions concerning germs as early as 5 years old. Although I no longer obsess about germs or have outward compulsions, I've come to recognize the fact that I do indeed have mental compulsions. I've made strides in attempting to control these compulsions- for instance, not letting myself dig through my memories, or forcing my mind to refocus on other matters in order to prevent rumination.

However, I still have the same obsession- blaming my characters for real life events, as if they 'caused them'. This obsession tends to be pushed forward by the fact that whenever I have a thought about a character 'doing something', that thing generally does happen. It's a very annoying obsession, and I have had it under control for a while, by taking steps to be aware of my thoughts and not allowing myself to dwell on them. If something happened that associated with a thought, I wouldn't let myself ruminate. The obsession was still there, but I was slowly trying to teach myself to resist my various mental compulsions.