trigeminal nerve stimulation

Hi newcomer here,trying to help my sister,who has had OCD for 30yrs and  couldn't make CBT work. I saw recently onTV("Trust me I'm a doctor") a small device for stimulation of the trigeminal nerve....a pad is placed on the forehead and a small current is applied .The name of this device was Neuro Sigma and it claimed positive results for PTSD Anxiety and Fear...... OCD wasn't mentioned but it would,to me,seem to be a similar condition.I wrote to the makers in USA.to enquire about its use for OCD and as yet (2weeks) no response.The device is expensive about £600 but she says she'd pay that happily if it worked.So has anyone used a device like this or has anyone heard of it being used for OCD?

I'd be very grateful for a response.

yours hopefully Peter

The likelihood is minimal Peter. 

I would suggest your sister joins our community here on the forum. 

Preferably I would suggest she becomes a full member of OCD-UK then, in the member's only area - not open to the Internet in general - we can work with her on her issues and provide some specific suggestions. 

There is a vast amount of knowledge here amongst the OCD-UK members :)

Regards 

Roy 

Hi Peter,

I remember seeing that programme and thinking the device might have potential in the future. But right now it's pretty clear it's experimental and it doesn't come with any guarantees of benefit. More importantly there's no guarantee of not causing harm (especially if applied incorrectly in untrained home use.)  

It's been proposed as a treatment for anxiety and PTSD, but is not proven to work even in those conditions, let alone start applying the technique to other conditions that it's not been tested on like OCD. Just because there's some anxiety involved in both conditions doesn't mean you're dealing with the same thing. (Eggs and meat both have protein in them but they aren't the same food.)