Is OCD Making me a Coward?

Hello all. I'm starting to think that OCD has made me a coward. When I was a kid, I had a friend who was to years older than me, and he used to take advantage of it by beating me up here and there and I wouldn't fight back. One day I decided to fight back and I became stronger than him. In general I became known as someone strong and not afraid of others.

Ocd has now ruined my image of myself, and I dont know if I should just be calling myself a coward or blaming it on the ocd. I have this fear of getting stabbed, and it will manifest itself subtly if I have to interact with someone who is aggressive or controlling.
I am a professional chess player and teacher, and this fear has even now severely interfered with my chess, where total concentration is needed. There is this player who goes to the same monthly tournament as me, and he is not the best sport when he looses. He can be very childish, although we sometimes hang out. I've known him since we were 12. One time he lost a game and left the room slamming the door. Just last week he swore under his breath after loosing. I've never seen him get violent, but i've heard him say many times things like "I should give him a fist in his face."
So anyway I played him on Tuesday night. I was hoping I'd overcome my obsession which Ive had regarding him which is that if I win he will start a fight and maybe stab me. I also worry that if I get up during the game to look at other games or get a drink or whatever (it's common for a player to get up during tournaments), then he will start a fight that I am distracting him. I also worry that if I even look to the side during the game to observe another game or just to think about our position on the board in my head (sometimes I can think ahead better without looking at the board and trying to picture it in my mind) he will call me out on it and say why an I looking away for so long.