poison and contamination,feeling but not knowing

Guest devOCD

Hi its my first time posting and i really dont know what to do and feel scared,i have had ocd since i was young and it has ruined my life. I am early 30's now and every year it gets worse. I have been through cbt which helped briefly and have tried different medications but nothing is working.It started with just being clean and tidy, checking, dirt to thinking terrible things ive done which i know i havent but seem so real ect.now im older its on a whole new level i dont trust my own mind.my main problem is everything i own is contaminated my car which i had to sell my home and my clothes but with things i cant see or feel so i can never get reassurance for this,growing up in a broken home and being verbally picked on i think ocd partly stems from this i think this person is poisoning my things,im a very weary person and it could be others too.i feel like i have let them know somehow what im buying and where from so they will contaminate it before i get there,i got rid of my phone because i think im calling people i wouldnt trust.i have thrown away so many clothes which i have travelled the country to find a safe town to buy from.i suffer from other intrusive thoughts but this one seems to always be there.this is so unbearable now im so depressed and upset and im tired of fighting it.i am bothered even posting this on here so ive kept it short and dont want to go into too much detail. im on fluoxetine for the second try with a soon to have combination of another drug.please if anyone has similar thoughts of being purposely harmed from contamination and has intrusive thoughts that seem so real i would appreciate your time and advice posting a reply. Thanks

Guest lizinlondon

I have contamination OCD too. I have been on fluoxetine for nearly 4 months and it has started helping. It did make my anxiety worse at first though.