Is this a compulsion in disguise?

Guest light

Hi, I'm back again and as you may or may not know I've been dealing with religious obsessions (basically my underlying fear is that I don't have faith so my compulsions would be to affirm my faith and do stuff that would help me get closer to God.). I have one question to ask tho.

Um I have been battling this OCD for the past 2 years and a bit which has caused destructive effects to my spirutuality, I feel spiritually dead. Anyways, I know that this is as a result of my on going battle with OCD but I was wondering if I started to work on getting back my faith would that be a compulsion? I have a feeling that this isn't faith related and that I should just let the dead feeling be as it is and that deep down I do still have faith and that it will comeback to me naturally as I pay less attention to it.

Is this a compulsion if I decided to increase my faith?

Has anyone experienced a dead feeling inside due to OCD and what have they done about it.

yeah so what do I do anyways, with this dead feeling inside. so I work on it (don't know if it's a compulsion) or do I just ignore it? Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks =)

Edited by light

I would say yes, as you're forcing yourself to do something to get rid of the feeling which is technically a compulsion, but I'm afraid this is a "flavour" which is unfamiliar to me as I'm not at all religious, so I'm probably of little help at all!

FoosBoo88 x

The answer is kind of complicated but the short version is, it depends.

If every time you got the obsession that you've lost your faith you got down on your knees and prayed and prayed, that would be a compulsion. Especially if you said the same prayer over and over again.

Regardless having those obsessions, if you decide to try and reinforce your faith through reading more, praying more, going to church more, that's not really a compulsion.