Hi Everyone; long time sufferer; want to help others

Guest purplekitten95

Guest purplekitten95

Hi everyone, here is my story. I have had OCD symptoms for as long as I can remember so I have a lot of experience with the disorder. I've experienced a range of different kinds of OCD from the mundane to the bizarre. I did not receive therapy at all until a few years ago while attending college. Like many others I always believed that I could handle the problems by myself. It was not until I tried to enter a close relationship that I realized I needed help or I would have to spend my life alone. I knew about OCD but I was in denial that OCD was the problem. For years I struggled with confusion and self blame and prayed to have my brain issues taken away but they never disappeared. When I first learned about OCD I was terrified because of how much it matched me. I thought of a diagnosis as a sort of death sentence. If I said no to all the doctor's questions and avoided diagnosis then I would be free. I read a book about OCD called "Kissing Doorknobs" and I knew I could relate but I was not ready to tell anyone or even admit to myself. I didn't trust anyone no matter how much I wanted to feel better.