Hi

Guest Nattters

Guest Nattters

Hi everyone, I am new to this sort of thing and just wanted to hear other people stories about OCD as I am unsure if I am a sufferer. I get intrusive thoughts that can paralyse me for 10 minutes to over 8 hours, I have to carry out routines to protect those I love and care about and if things go wrong I believe and know it is my fault as I have not done a routine correctly. I cannot tell another person this face to face as otherwise they will also get hurt, either mentally or physically. Thanks for reading this ❤

Hi Natters,

Welcome to the forum! :original:

What you have described sounds very much like OCD & if you read many of the other posts on here I'm sure you will see many similarities between what you are going through & what other people are describing.

I take it from what you say about not being able to tell anyone this for fear of them getting hurt that you have yet to see your GP about it?

Whether it is OCD or another mental health issue, I would strongly recommend that you see your GP about it & describe what you are thinking & how it makes you fel, or if you can go straight to your local mental health service, even better.

If you are wanting to know more about OCD, take a look at the 'Learn about OCD' part on the main OCD UK website, it's really useful & there are also some 'Personal OCD Stories' you can read under the 'Your OCD' tab, you may also find these helpful.

Regards

Symps

Guest Nattters

Hi!

I haven't been to my GP yet because I dint want to believe I am ill, I don't think I'm ill, I feel like its normal to be like this. It is denying my school, social and work life and effects everyday choices! I just dont know what to do anymore.

This forum is a life saver ?

Guest Nattters

HiSymps07,

Is there a way to get rid of OCD without going toa GP as I dont want anyone else to know, like school and home and work as I think it will effect their perception of me?

Thanks for being so helpful!

?