Has anyone tried specific health foods or vitamins for their OCD?

Guest HeadAboveWater

Guest HeadAboveWater

I am interested in eating healthier. I have been eating quite healthy for the past two years now but I would like to get more vitamins into my diet... I know that eating a more balanced diet helps with mental and overall health. I was wondering if anyone takes certain supplements, vitamins or eats certain foods to aid in their mental health?

It really depends on what your body needs. I personally need to take magnesium, b vits and iron. if I don't, my body starts 'shaking', my body gets restless, which affects my mental state too. I do agree that omegas are very important, and vit d is needed to combat SAD etc. I recommend having a meeting with a nutrition therapist to find out what you could eat that benefits your health. I am studying nutrition at the moment and I find my health has seriously improved by following advice from my course. mentally I feel 'clearer'.

One advice on food: eat loads of fresh fruit (esp. berries) and eat loads of broccoli: one of the healthiest foods on earth!

I recently went for a blood test (because of an on going exhaustion) and the test results found that I was vitamin D deficient, so have been prescribed Vit D supplements (just over the counter ones) but I am hoping that this will go towards helping my OCD. I didn't know any link between OCD and Vit D deficiency until it came up on my blood test and I googled to see if there might be a link.

I also recently started taking a vitamin C powder and also pure omega 3 capsules. I am hoping that a combination of things could help towards better mental health. I am also trying to exercise more.

I would be interested to know anything else that people take, eat in their diet that could help towards a better mental health.

Edited by looper