Do I have OCD

Guest hedonwarrior

Guest hedonwarrior

Hi,

I'm Dean, 33 years of age, married with one beautiful daughter, for a living I work in IT. I hear a lot of people these days referring to their OCD suffering when in fact they have not been to a doctor, it's just they like a tidy desk and I've been wondering whether or not these people know what they are saying. It also got me asking questions about myself as I obsess with tidiness and cleanliness to the point where It is affecting relationships and to a certain degree my marriage. My wife is very supportive but has in the past threatened to leave. I don't really control my disorder but hide it well, instead of obsessing when she is around I will leave work early or start late so I can tidy and clean the house, or I get up in the night to do it.

The problem is I'm getting worse and I nee to know if i'm just a tidy freak or I do suffer with OCD.

Apart from cleaning I do obsess about were things like this; I will be walking down the street and see a bit of litter, I will look at it and it will register I choose to leave it as it is dirty but then in my brain something tells me that if I don't go and pick it up that I or a family member will die either with a terminal illness or suddenly in a crash. Obviously rather than tempt fate I head back and pick up the litter. The same thing happens in a lot of scenarios.

I do get exhausted with it and often leads me feeling really low which is a lot worse after drink. I probably do a load of other things and don't realise, the usual checking I've locked something repeatedly often ends up with me returning home to check again.

I've realised that my childhood wasn't normal and both parents are OCD sufferers and bi-polar runs in the family but I want to break the cycle, I don't want my daughter growing up seeing her dad hovering at midnight and polishing.

Thanks for listening

Welcome Dean.