Sharing My OCD Experience

Deep breath.

So, if you're a current OCD sufferer who was in the dark like I was then this is for you, consider it an enlightenment. But it's also for myself, to get something off of my chest. I have never written or spoke about my type of OCD before, so I feel like right now I'm officially bringing it to light. It has always been and felt real, because well, it obviously is real. In one way, it was all in my head within the sense that thoughts were and always have been "just" thoughts, but the impact the intrusive thoughts have had on me in the past has been extremely real and difficult to come to terms with. I'm not sure if this is for most OCD sufferers with my type of OCD, but I never forgot the day I had my first intrusive thought. I must've been about 12. My family situation was a little bit different to the majority of people's and I didn't live with my mum, but instead my grandparents, for personal reasons. My mother wasn't a "bad" person, her heart was in the right place although she made some awful life choices. I had a very sheltered childhood, and my grandparents protected me from as many bad things as they could. Anyway, I remember one night I went to stay with my mum overnight for the first time in a while on one of her "better days" and everything was fine, until it started to get late and she decided to have an in-depth conversation with me about why she couldn't handle looking after me and her past with alcohol, etc... I won't go into too much detail. She also suffered from mental illnesses, mostly just depression. She had no one else to talk to and she proceeded to tell me about one psychotic experience she went through where she got so drunk and high that she would hear voices, see things that were not there, etc... And in the space of a minute, everything I had been sheltered from just hit me. Hard. I honestly believed that was the trigger and I was genuinely disturbed for the first time in my life and I had never expe