Can someone explain to me mental problems and violence

Recently a friend of mine told me some horrible news, a next door nnearibour of his was killed violently by their son. I said why would the son to that and she replied getting had mental problems and deep depression .

Surely it must take more than this to commit such a horrific crime ? It scared me a bit

Guest imalright

:-(

I suppose it is possible that mental illness can lead to horrific crimes xx

But someone would have to be seriously ill XX

I am not an expert....at all. But I read a lot about crime and have done since a young age. There are many cases whereby a crisis or episode of severe mental illness has caused the person to commit bad crimes. For example - to look at one case - Andrea Yates - severe post natal depression/psychosis led to her terrible crime. There are loads and loads of cases.

I think it's wrong to lie to you about that. It is possible that mental illness can lead to it but I guess the liklihood of encountering it is very low - they're rare cases x

Some people commit crimes, some of them terrible crimes.

Some people have mental illness, sometimes severe mental illness.

There can be overlap between those two groups.

Having mental illnesses, like OCD doesn't mean you'll commit crimes.

Not having a mental illness doesn't mean you won't commit crimes.

Edited by dksea

That sums it up really and then it's back to an OCD Sufferers biggest fear......the need for certainty, which can't be guaranteed in any area of life.

But probability is a different thing altogether....we have to settle for that

Caramoole

Guest joannna

Hi All