I'm new-unusual symptoms-ROCD about friendship!

Guest justtalktome

Guest justtalktome

Hi everybody. I'm new to internet boards. I'm very desperate for somebody to help and understand me-I'm 18 years old, and I have never yet been able to find someone who has the same obsession as me. I have relationship centered OCD, but it's about friendship. I worry about being in too much pain and not being able to befriend certain people and therefore missing out. For example, I worry that I will have too much anxiety or sadness around people who know my ex boyfriend, so my OCD tells me I cannot be friends with those people and to not be open to them. My OCD is always looking for a reason to avoid a friendship or why it may go bad or why it may not be right, especially if the person in question knows an ex or an enemy of mine. Does ANYONE else experience something similar? What has helped? I've had good therapists, but I would love to be able to talk to some people who have experienced what I have, or even just people who have OCD in general! Thanks a lot. By the way, I'm 18, so if this obsession seems very "high school", well, yeah....I'm thinking avoidance of people and friendships would be wrong, and that I should ignore the OCD and be open and face my anxieties...maybe?

Guest Sisyphus

Hi J,

Sorry, I'm not a "young person", I'm 42, but I'm responding here anyway cos this is a little relevant to me also.

Two things about this.

First off yeah I have experienced this in a big way - I suppose it has been a way of life for me for as long as I can remember. I would avoid friends of an ex-girlfriend after a break-up, perhaps in part to try and protect myself from the associated hurt of the breakup, perhaps in fear they now look down on me, and perhaps to avoid hearing bad news about the ex having met some James Bond sickening hero type guy. And I will be particularly careful to avoid associations with people I perceive as enemies or their friends.