Guest Phyl

Hi -

I am introducing myself as a new member. I am currently receiving treatment for my OCD and am thinking of joining a support group. It is great to find this website because although I am aware that OCD is not uncommon, it is nice to get confirmation that there are others out there. My OCD primarily takes the form of counting although I do have repetitive behaviour patterns and quirks that can be very annoying. I only really "came out of the closet" this year despite suffering from this from childhood so I am still learning as I go along. I would welcome any feedback.

Thanks

Phyl

Guest twoshoes

Hi Phyl

Welcome :thumbup:

I have found this site really useful, lots of support and good advice. Everybody understands and when you are fighting the OCD it can be great to sound off to people who have experienced the same difficulties.

i would love to join a support group but sometimes have trouble leaving the house espcially when i am going somewhere new so I lean on this site.

You mention that you are having treatment...CBT? or something else. How's it going?

Take care

twoshoes

Hi Phyl and welcome to the board.

Like you, I have only recently admitted that I need help and this website has been brilliant. Everyone is really supportive and understanding. It's good to know that there wil be people on the board who understand how you're feeling.

Best of luck with the treatment and support group.

Sian :grin:

I only really "came out of the closet" this year despite suffering from this from childhood so I am still learning as I go along.

Hi Phyl and welcome :)

Yes, it takes a lot of courage to 'come out of the closet' :) . In my experience it is not an all or nothing thing and many years on, I'm still at the point where some people know about my OCD and some don't. Sometimes I'm simply not brave enough to tell people (and I get embarrassed :thumbup: ) and sometimes I just don't think people will understand which I find frustrating.