Are/Can Less Serious thoughts be OCD?

Hi,

As I am new to understanding the OCD condition, I would appreciate a bit of help. Some of the thoughts I feel most guilty about are things that many might suggest ARE coming from me? For example many of not 'killign someone', 'attacking someone'....but they might be making a crude remark about someone in my head about them being poor, not very clever. These again would be no reason, and I know this is not my character. The thing is the more outrageous thoughts I can realise must be the condition, but I almost get more guilt from these thoughts as they appear more normal and could be down to me I worry. I get guilt and not any pleasure from these thoughts, which I assume is a good sign. In addition can can one really decipher what is their thought and what would be OCD, because obviously one can not just blame everything that appears bad on OCD?

Your comments would be helpful and of interest,

Jon.

Hi Jon,

Welcome to the board :)

I'm not an expert at all but from what I have read and heard about OCD I would say that the thoughts you are experiencing are OCD. It sounds to me like they are distressing you and that is often a key feature of OCD. You say that the thoughts aren't like your character and so that further suggests that they are OCD.

Guest summerleft

Ive had OCD for 12 years and its evolved and changed many times where i ve probably lhad most of the thoughts associated with it over this time

I can sit watching tv and think the most awful things about people such as oo shes so fat they just pop into my head without reason as normally im not that mean plus im not that thin!

So yes your thoughts do seem to be OCD related the point being when i first started with it i wish i known then becuase it seemed just a quirk in my nature i never knew it would become the monster that it has! eary diagnosis could stop years of misery so i hope that it becomes a more recognised illness in time to come

Guest ace of base fan