I feel my OCD might have limited my career progression.

I work as a senior software developer.

I won't move into a management role because every time I cross swords with someone and I can't resolve it immediately, I will obsess about it and make myself extremely anxious. I get ideas into my head about confrontation, a fight breaking out, or just not handling the situation properly and looking bad in front of my team.  Even a minor skirmish between a team member and I over something daft gets me anxious in the evening.

I get really anxious that this is going to escalate, I'll get into trouble, lose my job, my career will be ruined, etc.

And then the next day, more often than not, its forgotten and I got all worked up over nothing.

I have had problems with some people in my past jobs and the everyday tension has been hard to deal with. I actually wished they'd try and take a swing at me so I could get it over and done with (I'm big and very well built, so they'd be the ones on the losing end) but no, its just sit there and ruminate of an evening. 

I was wanting to ask, does anyone know any managers or team leaders who have OCD (properly diagnosed, not what film stars say to show how perfect and attentive they are) and how do they cope with the anxiety of managing people? How do they deal with conflict? I knew some managers who wouldn't deal with conflict and they were pretty much useless.

As you know, its not quite as easy as saying "That was work; I'll leave it behind when I clock off" - we can't think that way.  Exercise helps, sure, but it's not a cure.

Believe me my job its the only thing that takes my mind off obsessing about my past, but I feel I could do more, move further up the career ladder and realise my full potential (which makes me obsess more that I haven't achieved enough in my career.)

Edited by Scott

Hi Scott