How do I get help for my son?

Hi all, 

I’m a new member, my 14 year old son has been struggling with contamination OCD for a few years. We are a family of 4, and my husband and I are at breaking point, because my son cannot do simple things, such as getting dressed, getting dry after a shower, touching his clean clothes if he thinks he is dirty or accepting that something is clean when I give it to him.
My son also has ASD, but it is the OCD which causes the problems. We cannot function as a family, we struggle to get him to school, I have taken today off sick (I’m a teacher- horrific workload in a very pressured secondary school) because we have spent the weekend with my son at crisis point over putting some clean laundry away.

My son’s school have agreed to CBT with their educational psychologist. I am incredibly grateful for this as camhs has refused us help for the 3rd time. But right now, I don’t know how to help him.

If I don’t enable his behaviours, I don’t get to work- end of. Mornings are horrendous and extremely pressured, we are all very upset by the time we leave the house. Every day is the same routine of him refusing to touch anything, refusing to allow me to help him because I am contaminated, being late, his grandad (who takes him to school) becoming stressed and is caving in to his demands for a 2nd shower. 

I feel your fear too OP, I am living in fear that I will lose my job and render us homeless because I cannot be present at work, tackle my workload and parent my son. We cannot afford for me to not work. But if I do take some time off to help him, what/how do I do that? One day here and there is not useful, because my son will revert to his safety behaviour just so that I can leave the house. I honestly do not know how working parents are handling ocd in their children, because I am failing miserable on all counts.

Any advice will be gratefully received. 

On 04/10/2021 at 17:46, Lollipop said: