quietly clearing your throat

Guest huey261163

Guest huey261163

My name is Huey, i have a ten year old daughter called Keeley,she seems to be quietly clearing her throat whilst watching TV, and it has been noticed at school by her friend who sits next to her.Is their any thing to worry about and if so what would be my first step thank you.

My name is Huey, i have a ten year old daughter called Keeley,she seems to be quietly clearing her throat whilst watching TV, and it has been noticed at school by her friend who sits next to her.Is their any thing to worry about and if so what would be my first step thank you.

17317[/snapback]

Hi Huey,

I am not a TS expert and hopefully others will be able to offer an informed comment at a later stage. Is the thraot clearing the only symptom you have spotted so far?

Have you spoke to her about it? If it is TS then if she feels it is noticable and others are aware of it then she will try and stop doing it, which will in fact maybe make it worse. It could be just one of those childhood things of course and that she may well grow out of it.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge of TS will respond shortly.

Hi huey

Keeley's throat clearing does sound like a 'tic' but having such a tic in isolation does not necessarily mean it will develop into Tourettes :whistling: . It is actually very common for children to have tics which often disappear over time. These are called transient tics. Sometimes the tic does persevere and it can become chronic in nature. Only really if Keeley started developing multiple tics such as neck jerking/stretching, leg or abdominal tics etc would I start to think about Tourettes. Even then they have to be present for over a year.